What I love… My Friends

This is a shout out to my amazing friends in my life. Since moving to Portland, I struggled with building friendships, or so I thought I had. What I realized was that I had many friends, both back home, here, and even in Seattle. What I didn’t realize is that I was the one out of touch with them. I had been neglecting these amazing friendships, for what reason? Well, I couldn’t even think of a good reason. I know at the time, I had a million and one excuses why not to call or why not to go spend time with someone, but that’s what they were, just excuses.

Over the last two months, I have learned a lot about what it takes to be present in a friendship. It not only involves sharing myself (this is something that I don’t do very well), but listening and even asking the hard questions that I wouldn’t ask before, because I was afraid I might bring up issues that nobody wanted to talk about,  but I’d rather be the one that shows I care than be the one that’s aloof. Because I do care! Come to find out, I care a lot! I promise to be more present and make more of an effort, where in the past I didn’t.

I want to say thank you to all of you amazing friends, who have shared both my laughter and my tears, my joys and my fears.  Thank you for giving me your amazing advice and inspiration. Thank you for sharing your stories and experiences with me. Thank you for listening and letting me have a voice. It’s been a great journey and I’m looking forward to all our plans in the next few weeks. I’m a stronger, better person for having you in my life. Love you all immensely.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

