What I Love… Red Wine

A few years ago, I drank way too much red wine and woke up with the world’s worst headache and decided to steer clear of it as much as possible. Experience after experience proved that red wine gave me a raging headache and I decided to stick to white wines and rosés. Lately, I have decided to start drinking more red wines. Perhaps, my headaches were caused more by too much alcohol consumption as opposed to red wine specifically. Though, I do believe these headaches are wine related, not necessarily from reds only, because after my second glass I usually end up with a small headache, whether it’s a white or red wine. This is a shame, because I do love wine, but moderation is a trick I am learning.

I ended up at the Red Slate in SE Portland this past Friday, a small wine bar that does wine tasting classes and special events. It is only open to the public for happy hour on Fridays with a small menu of three wines to choose from. Out of the three – a sparkling, white and red – I opted to only drink the red and I fell in love with it. It was a 2007 Réserve Perrin from Perrin & Fils. This wine is a blend of Grenache, Syrah, and Mourvèdre from southern Rhône in France. While I’m no wine guru and am just now embarking on a new journey of loving wine, I will say it was bold, but smooth, rich and deep, yet light enough for a warm sunny, summer evening. Shockingly, this bottle of wine can be bought for under $10.

I look forward to new adventures in wine tasting. I would love it if you shared what your favorite red wine is!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

